City Guide
National Assembly

     The National Assembly was built in the period 1884-1886 by the design of architect Constantin Yovanovic. A motto inscribed on its main facade reads "Union renders strength". It has been re-built in 1890 and 1928. The National Assembly represents the legislative state power and parliamentary oversight and its 240 members are elected for a four-year term. 39 Ordinary National Assemblies and seven Grand National Assemblies have been elected and functioned so far.